Pythonism

code and the oracular

The Mediocrity Detector (poem)

leave a comment »

A roving spyglass of disembodied awareness wanders,
it surveys my dirty flat and judges me a subversive, 
zooming in on full ashtray and stains on cord carpet.  
My old headmaster is surely friends with the operator 
but I see visions that encourage our struggle,
as my brothers and sisters and I together fight 
these notions that material capital is also spiritual.
Writing that is no good is writing that don’t conform,
we husband our phrases into their final form 
but competing principles sometimes disagree what to say
as if a different person is writing today.
Would I aim to please the great and good ? 
Or the poor and oppressed as I truly should? 
I zany and idiosyncratic mood sometimes rules me 
I distil this down into my graphomanic stream.
But doubt suggests that so few will appreciate 
only those whose digestions are aligned just right,
textual enzymes primed for correct deconstruction.
To others no value, flavour or nourishment.
That eye of lazy surveillance visits again…
it is the mature and authentic self that draws it.
Eccentricity visibility, camouflage never leaps out at you 
like being afraid to kiss your lover in the street,
what if you were too shaky and passionate?
It is a risk like this to declare my love for the muse 
what if I am too zany and gibbering,
and my disapproval of clichés too heartfelt?

Written by Luke Dunn

September 9, 2017 at 6:20 pm

Posted in Creative Writing, poems

Leave a Reply

