Pythonism

writing about my life

Feel no Shame (poem)

leave a comment »

Sometimes censorship causes me to encrypt my verse
but as Freud said of dreams it just makes it worse

I change the swearwords sometimes too in denial
even made up words will do to conceal the vile 

But what waste and loss of sincerity 
when I have to hide my naked temerity

Shame makes us slice away great chunks of being,
what an evil malware installed in our meaning
 
the mind’s life can be a writer’s eternal resource
mingling currents breed patterns in the watercourse

to feed this so short­ term gift of being aware
Chaos turns into order through my sifting care

or is writing that’s no good writing that doesn’t conform
no matter how you husband phrases into their final form

with a hunger for greatness that smothers integrity
do the remembered all sell their souls for posterity?

So what if there were choices and turnings I never took 
I loved instead staying in my room and musing with a book

a contemplative gazing through the world’s belly button
devouring all the texts, thinking, reading like a glutton

though bitchiness is still ready for its dismissal 
who knows us as we are when critics write the missal

competing voices do disagree about what to say
as if some different person is writing each day

should I aim to please just the great and good
Or the poor and oppressed as I really should

I see now that I am just a crazy graphomaniac 
dreaming my scribbling will one day pay back 

Written by Luke Dunn

November 14, 2017 at 8:00 am

Posted in Poems

Leave a Reply

